Strumming: a serenade for guitar

Giles SwayneGZ121
Guitar | Duration: 10 minutes

Strumming is a passacaglia with seven variations. of which the last five become the Serenade of the subtitle. This is subverted by four banjo-like interruptions, and the piece closes with a reprise of the passacaglia theme. Commissioned by the Tunbridge Wells International Music Festival, with funds provided by Gerry Mattock and Beryl Calver-Jones, Strumming was premiered by Craig Ogden on October 20th 2012 at the church of St. John the Baptist, Penshurst.


£8.00 Add to basket

Airs and Dances

arr. John BloodGZ118
Oboe and Piano | Grades 1–4 technical level | Duration: 13 minutes

A collection of twelve Renaissance and Baroque pieces, skilfully chosen and arranged to introduce oboists to some delightful and captivating lesser known works alongside several firm favourites. Especial care has been taken to provide piano parts that are eminently playable.

  • Minuett  Daniel Purcell
  • The Keel Row
  • Tomorrow the fox will come to town  Thomas Ravenscroft
  • Love me or not  Thomas Campion
  • Giga  Samuel Arnold
  • Choral  J.S.Bach
  • Siciliana  Samuel Arnold
  • Saraband  William Croft
  • Prelude  Johann C.F.Fischer
  • Air  Henry Purcell
  • Ballet  Christoph W.Gluck
  • Gavotte  J.S.Bach

Chosen by the Associated Board for their current Woodwind syllabus:

Grade 1  The Keel Row

Grade 2  Saraband (Croft)

Grade 3  Gavotte (Bach)

£8.25 Add to basket

O my dear heart

Giles SwayneGZ079
Alto solo | SATB | Lute | Duration: 2½ minutes

Commissioned by James Bowman, and first performed in this original version with lute on 14th December 2008 at the Queen’s Chapel, St James’ Palace by James Bowman, Dorothy Linell (lute) and the choir of Her Majesty’s Chapel Royal conducted by Andrew Gant. A version with harp (GZ079a) was made in 2011, also for the choir of Her Majesty’s Chapel Royal.

£2.75 Add to basket

Uncommon prayers

Giles SwayneGZ119 & GZ120
SATB choir | Clarinet, horn, cello & double bass | Duration: 19 mins

Commissioned by Clare College, Cambridge for 2011-12 residency. First performed in Sydney, Australia in July 2012, during the college choir’s tour of Australia. First UK performance: December 15th 2012.

  1. The Rooks
  2. The Toad
  3. The Rat
  4. The Mallard
  5. The Owl

Score & parts:

£12.50 Add to basket

Vocal score (organ):

£7.50 Add to basket